Minister Greg Rickford Announces New Ontario Energy Board CEO, Chief Commissioner, and Board of Dire

Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines Greg Rickford today announced the appointment of several new members of the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) leadership team and board of directors. The government's previously-announced reform of the OEB's governance structure will come into effect upon proclamation of amendments — anticipated in Fall 2020 — under Schedule 2 of the Fixing the Hydro Mess Act, 2019. Minister Rickford intends to recommend the appointment of Susanna Zagar as the OEB's new Chief Executive Officer and Lynne Anderson as the OEB's new Chief Commissioner. Ms. Zagar spent 10 years as Chief Strategy, Analytics & People Officer at the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB). She previously served as an Assistant Deputy Minister in the Ontario Ministry of Energy and Infrastructure and the Ontario Ministry of Labour. Ms. Anderson was most recently a full-time OEB board member. She previously served as the OEB's Vice President of Applications for nearly seven years and as Chief Regulatory Affairs and Government Relations Officer at Hydro Ottawa. The government also intends to make the following initial appointments to the OEB under the new governance structure:

  • John Knubley (Board of Directors)

  • Current president of InnovAction Advisory Services Inc. and a former Deputy Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

  • Gerald Moncrief (Board of Directors)

  • Previous owner and president/vice president of Moncrief Construction Limited.

  • Glenn O'Farrell (Board of Directors)

  • Currently the CEO at the Ombudservice for Life & Health Insurance. Previously, he served as CEO at Groupe Média TFO, Canadian Association of Broadcasters and Global Television Network Québec.

  • Marie Oswald (Board of Directors)

  • Previously served as Director and Chair of the Board at Oakville Enterprises Corporation and Oakville Hydro Electricity Distribution Inc., following a career in legal and compliance leadership in the financial services industry.

  • Allison Duff (Commissioner)

  • A former OEB Member with previous experience as a business consultant.

Minister Rickford previously announced the appointment of Richard Dicerni as Chair of the OEB Board of Directors. DeMarco Allan LLP welcomes today's announcement and wishes to congratulate all new appointees.

For more information, please contact Lisa DeMarco at

Search By Tags
Recent Posts
Latest Tweets